Our Team

Balaji Panchapakesan

Small Systems Laboratory

Vahid Rahneshin

Graduate student

Masoud Loeian

Graduate student

Jaya Cromwell

Graduate student

Past Researchers of SSL:

Past Post-doctoral Researchers:

  1. Dr. Mariyappan Shanmugam (2014-2015) Currently Oakridge National Laboratory.
  2. Dr. Carlos Jarro (2012-2014); Current Position: Electro-Optics Research and Nanotechnology Center, University of Louisville.
  3. Dr. Kasif Teker (2005-2006); Current Position: Associate Professor, Istanbul SeHir Universitisi, Istanbul, Turkey.

Past Graduate Students:

  1. Shoaxin Lu, Photomechanical actuation in nanotube-polymer composites and their applications in micro-opto-mechanical systems (Ph.D. 2006, University of Delaware, Post-doctoral research: University of Pennsylvania, 2007, Current Position: Silicon Sensors, CA).
  2. James Loomis, Nano-carbon elastomer composites: Characterization and applications in photomechanical actuation (Ph.D. 2013; University of Louisville, Recipient of Guy Stevenson Award for Graduate Research; Postdoctoral fellow at Prof. Gang Chen’s Nanoengineering group at Massachusetts Institute of Technology 2015, Current Position: Senior Lecturer, University of Auckland, NZ)
  3. Peng Xu, Near infra-red photon-assisted polymerization of advanced polymer composites (Ph.D. 2013; Current Position: Advisory engineer/Scientists IBM Research Center, Albany, NY)
  4. Farhad Khosravi, Nanotube devices for capture and analysis of cancer biomarkers and circulating tumor cells (Ph.D. July 2016, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Current Position: Post-doctoral researcher, Small Systems Laboratory, Worcester Polytechnic Institute)
  5. Xioming Fan, Liquid crystals of carbon nanotubes elastomer composite based photomechanical actuators (M.S., 2014, University of Louisville)
  6. Alisha Bragg, Fabrication and Characterization of Graphene Gels (M.S., 2014, University of Louisville)
  7. Tom Burkhead Development of a carbon nanotube biosensor for the detection of radiation damage in human blood (M.S., 2012, University of Louisville)
  8. Benjamin King, Carbon nanotube biosensors for detection of biomarkers in breast cancer cells (M.S., 2012, University of Louisville)
  9. Vanessa Velasco, Carbon nanotube thin film transistors for biomedical applications (M.S., 2010, University of Louisville)
  10. Peng Xu, Integration of Ag2Ga nanoneedles on batch fabricated micro-grippers for material property measurement (M.S., 2010, University of Louisville)
  11. Ye Liu, Photoconductivity of aligned carbon nanotube fibers (2007, University of Delaware)
  12. Ning Shao, Sensing, Imaging and Photodynamic therapy of cancer (2006, Univ. Delaware)
  13. Kousik Sivakumar, Nanowire sensors and actuators (M.S. 2005, University of Delaware)
  14. Ranjani Sirdeshmukh, Biological functionalization of single wall carbon nanotubes (2004, University of Delaware)